In 1654, Thomas Pell signed a treaty with Siwanoy Indians for a 9,000 acre tract in what is now Bronx and lower Westchester. A land grant for the Manor of Pelham is issued to Pelham in 1666. John Bartow acquires property in 1790. Robert Bartow built a Federal Style mansion in 1842 on the Long Island Sound. It is last occupied as a residence in 1904, eventually International Garden Club converts it into a house museum in 1946. Mayor Fiorello La Guardia occupied the basement of the mansion in 1936, to escape extremely hot summer. Name changed to Bartow-Pell Mansion Museum and Gardens in 1959.
This 3-story mansion is filled with very tall doors, 13-ft high ceilings and a spectacular elliptical stairway. The architect is believed to be Minard Lafever. Delano & Aldrich restored the building in 1914. The Orangerie (photo) is spectacular