Saturday, March 14, 2015

Nassau County Museum of Art, Roslyn, New York, New York

The land that eventually became the museum grounds was previously the undeveloped portion of Cedarmere, poet William Cullen Bryant's retreat. In the 1890s, his family sold all but 7 acres to former congressman Lloyd Bryce, who hired Ogden Codman, Jr. to build a Georgian Revival mansion on the high ground in the middle of the property, overlooking nearby Hempstead Harbor. He named it Clayton.  In 1919 Bryant’s heirs sold the estate to Henry Clay Frick, the co-founder of U.S. Steel, for his son, Childs Frick. The architect Sir Charles Carrick Allow was commissioned to redesign the facade and much of the interior. Childs Frick and his wife Frances lived at Clayton for almost 50 years, until his death in 1965.


Chaim Gross

Fernando Botero

No comments:

Post a Comment