Saturday, April 4, 2015

Hillwood, LIU C.W. Post campus, Brookville, New York

The campus is named after breakfast cereal inventor Charles William Post (died 1914), father of Marjorie Merriweather Post, who later married financier E.F. Hutton and owned a 177-acre estate on Long Island's North Shore called "Hillwood." Marjorie sold the estate in 1951 for $200,000 to Long Island University, which founded its C.W. Post Campus in 1954, marking the 100th anniversary of C. W. Post's birth.

horse stables

horse stables

original entrance

No comments:

Post a Comment