Friday, June 5, 2015

The Uyghurs, Xinjiang Autonomous Region, China

The Uyghurs are a Turkic ethnic group living in Eastern and Central Asia. Today, Uyghurs live primarily in the Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region in China, where they are officially recognized as one of the 56 recognised ethnic minorities.  An estimated 80% of Xinjiang's Uyghurs live in the southwestern portion of the region, the Tarim Basin.  Outside Xinjiang, the largest community of Uyghurs in China is in Taoyuan County, in south-central Hunan.  Outside of China, significant diasporic communities of Uyghurs exist in the Central Asian countries of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Uzbekistan, and in Turkey.  Smaller communities are found in Afghanistan, Pakistan, Germany, Belgium, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Canada, and the United States.

newlyweds on Beijing Kashgar flight CEA

No comments:

Post a Comment