Saturday, August 29, 2015

Weeping Beech Park, Flushing, Queens, New York, New York

Tiny Weeping Beech Park on a 37th Ave. cul-de-sac is home of a most extraordinary tree grove.  The tree was planted by Samuel Parsons in 1847, from a small shoot brought from Belgium.  The Weeping Beech keeps company with the rare Golden Larch facing 37th Ave. and a tall Cedar of Lebanon in the playground.  Parsons established a nursery in 1838, which later moved to Kissena Park, a keystone of Flushings horticultural industry.

In 1965, the Kingsland House, a house named for Joseph King in 1774, was moved on a flat-bed trailer from 155th St. and Northern Blvd. to its present site in Weeping Beech Park.  The gambrel-roofed Dutch shingled house was once the home of the Murray family (until 1932) after whom the Murray Hill section of Flushing is named.    

Weeping Beech canopy

Weeping Beech perimeter walk
Kingsland House

Cedar of Lebanon

Cedar of Lebanon
trunk, golden larch

golden larch

No comments:

Post a Comment