Saturday, March 1, 2014

Long Island City, Queens, New York, New York

Long Island City became the seat of Queens County in 1870 before Queens joined NYC in 1898.  Note glorious Courthouse below on an open park at Court Square.  When the Queensboro Bridge opened in 1909 followed by IRT subway in 1915 (one stop from Grand Central Terminal), the population swelled and industries surged.  Many of those factories became vacant for decades to be taken over by artists and galleries.

Omonia Greek Cafe
32-20 Broadway, Astoria
Dorsky Gallery
11-03 45th Ave., LIC

Dorsky Gallery
Hyperrealism photo
Hunter's Point Historic District
Built before LIC joined Queens in 1898
45th Ave.
Citicorp Bldg in background

45th Ave.
50-story Citicorp Tower on Court Square
1989 Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
SculptureCenter 44-19 Purves St.
founded 1928 in former trolley repair bldg.
renovation designed by Maya Lin



LIC Court House
1908 Renaissance Revival Beaux Arts style
Orig, 1877 bldg burned down

No comments:

Post a Comment